Newbie needs help tpo color interface on map accoprding to STP status

Started by Gaston, June 23, 2017, 04:10:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gaston

Hi,

I am quite new to netxms, using it for a while now, but without any advanced configuration.

I use NetXMS to monitor my home network with 9 managed switches in a spanning tree mesh. My goal is to display this "backbone" on a map with the interface status being colored according to the STP status (forwarding, blocking,...)

What I managed to do so far:

• Auto discover the network
  • Create a map showing only the backbone components (switches and routers)
  • Device links are auto-generated on the map
  • Define device level SNMP DCI

Q1:

The first issue I have is that some switches are linked by multiple connections between them, but only one connection is generated on the map. I could now create a second link and specify the other connector names, but the second connection is right on the first connection (one oiver the other) and I found now way to move the conenctions to be shown parralel, instead of on top of each other.

Q2:

My understanding of DCI is that it is managed on device level so I need to add entries for the dot1dStpPortState for the required ports. I am unsure if it is possible to read a complete table at once, i.e. if I can enter one single DCI parameter with the OID of the dot1dStpPortState table, or do I have to enter sperate DCI entries for each interface. The first option would be faster for me and for the switch as it could walk the data instead of requesting each separately.

I was able to give the table OID to the DCI and it also confirmed type "Table", but I am not sure if this makes the child data (i.e. per interface state) accessible.

Q4: