Author Topic: Rack - Blade Centers  (Read 2995 times)

lindeamon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
    • View Profile
Rack - Blade Centers
« on: December 31, 2015, 05:25:43 pm »
Hi,

since blade centers are not represented as "pizza" servers, there should be a solution to that

10x,
Lindeamon

Victor Kirhenshtein

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7140
    • View Profile
Re: Rack - Blade Centers
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2016, 10:13:11 pm »
Hi,

that probably will require additional element - chassis - that will be placed into rack, and blade servers will be bound to chassis in a same manner they are bound now to racks - be giving position and size.

Best regards,
Victor

lindeamon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
    • View Profile
Re: Rack - Blade Centers
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2016, 09:50:22 pm »
Hi victor,

will you do it ?

Best Regards,
Lindeamon

Victor Kirhenshtein

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7140
    • View Profile
Re: Rack - Blade Centers
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2016, 02:22:52 pm »
At some point, definitely :) I cannot promise exact release when it will be implemented though. You can keep track of it: https://dev.raden.solutions/issues/1118.

Best regards,
Victor

lindeamon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
    • View Profile
Re: Rack - Blade Centers
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2016, 03:48:53 pm »
thank you for the effort and awesome software

Anders

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: Rack - Blade Centers
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2016, 11:23:11 pm »
Hi,

Sorry for reviving this old post, but I sure would also like to see this feature implemented.
In my situation, we instead have a bunch of Supermicro Twin-servers which are 4x servers in 2U.

One way to maybe solve this issue could be to add an option to create a "Chassi" in the Object tree and then add the option to add Node(s) to a Chassi.
The Chassi should be able to be assigned to a Rack and specified how many rack-units in size it is.
In that way the Rack-picture would know how many Nodes are assigned to the chassi, its unit-size and rack-location and then the picture could be rendered based on that information.

I've attached a illustration of how a 10-node blade (with one faulty node) could be presented to the end user.

Regards,
// Anders