acknowledge and terminate alarms using third party software

Started by doubled, July 25, 2019, 05:05:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doubled

I'm very new to the product so my knowledge is limited. The person who installed and maintained the netxms environment has left so I need to figure it out by myself and this community.
This forum helped me a lot already but I have one problem I cannot solve.

Nobody is monitoring the alarms from the management console, all relevant alarms are emailed and managed from there. This means that alarms are never acknowledged, resolved or terminated. It seems that the housekeeper is not clearing alarms that still hold the status outstanding even if it passes the set expiration period.

Now SQL scripts are developed that alter alerts directly in the database. All alerts are being set to "Acknowledged" within 5 minutes and set to "terminated" in an hour. The NETXMS source code has been used to figure out which fields in the database needed to be altered.

But the management console does not update the alert when the status has been updated. Not even when you restart the console. Only when you restart the Server itself the console will show the at that time correct status. This means that the scripts work correct. It seems that the server has a local copy of the alarm administration and uses that to inform the clients. Off course it is updating in the database.

Now the question how can i force the server to always use the content from the database instead of the local copy in memory?

tomaskir

You should never manipulate the data directly in the database.

Your options are:
1) use NXSL to manipulate the alarms
2) use the API to manipulate the alarms

For the API, you can either use nxshell, or write a custom application using the Java API libraries.

nxshell has documentation on the wiki:
https://wiki.netxms.org/wiki/Using_nxshell_to_automate_bulk_operations

paul

My 2 cents as a novice user.