Deleting Objects interfaces

Started by David Jesus, March 22, 2018, 02:17:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David Jesus

Hi, I am new to this program and I started using it for 3 weeks on an database already build from the previous internee, my colleagues want me to delete the interfaces that don't exist from the switches but every time I delete it comes back is there a way to only make the program show the ports that exist.

StanHubble

To limit the (re)addition of unwanted interfaces there is a script in the scriptlibrary called Hook::CreateInterface

There are some examples on the site here, but simply you can do:

if ($1->name ilike "Po1"){
   return false;
   }
return true;

Replace Po1 with the interface name that your switch is reporting.

David Jesus

Thx Stan, I used your example, I changed it to help me but the problem is that the ports are still coming back.
I want the ports fa1 to fa8 to but I does not work.
I am using this script:
if ($1->name ilike "*fa.*"){
      return false;}

return true;

StanHubble

Yeah I tried wildcards too.....didn't work.
Ugly, but I ended up with a if( ){} structure for each interface name that i didn't want and that worked.
(elminated about 9600 interfaces)

David Jesus

Looks that I have to do the same, thx again for the help.

Tursiops

The following should actually work:
if ($1->name ilike "*fa*") { return false;}
return true;

Note that that your code was comparing to "*fa.*"

You could also use:
if ($1->name imatch "fa") { return false;}
return true;

David Jesus

JayST

I also resolved the (re)addition issue using the Hook::CreateInterfaces script and filter some names there, but what would be the easiest way to remove the unwanted interfaces across a bunch of nodes that got added before filtering?

Tursiops