Alarm configuation for Iomega/Lenovo ix2 NAS Drives

Started by m1975Michael, June 11, 2014, 11:02:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

m1975Michael

Hello Everyone,

I am new to NetXMS.  I need to know how to properly setup alarms for the Iomega/Lenovo ix2 NAS drives.  I have been able to import the .mib file into NetXMS.  In the mib browser I am able to see the options that I can monitor but I have no idea how to set it up properly.  The units are running net-snmp for the agent.  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

Victor Kirhenshtein

Hi!

There are tutorial on creating alarms and sending notifications: http://wiki.netxms.org/wiki/How_to_send_e-mail_notification_when_disk_space_is_low - just replace NetXMS agent DCI with appropriate SNMP OID.

Best regards,
Victor

m1975Michael

Quote from: Victor Kirhenshtein on June 12, 2014, 10:46:04 PM
Hi!

There are tutorial on creating alarms and sending notifications: http://wiki.netxms.org/wiki/How_to_send_e-mail_notification_when_disk_space_is_low - just replace NetXMS agent DCI with appropriate SNMP OID.

Best regards,
Victor

Thank you Victor for replying.  Is there a way to display all of the information the device can send through SNMP?  I am new to SNMP also.

Victor Kirhenshtein

Hi!

You can try to do SNMP walk from MIB Explorer view on different parts of MIB tree - but most likely you'll have to find some additional information about your devices - often data you get via SNMP is meaningless without description.

Best regards,
Victor

m1975Michael

Quote from: Victor Kirhenshtein on June 12, 2014, 11:21:20 PM
Hi!

You can try to do SNMP walk from MIB Explorer view on different parts of MIB tree - but most likely you'll have to find some additional information about your devices - often data you get via SNMP is meaningless without description.

Best regards,
Victor