Issues with zoning

Started by mrtur, October 17, 2023, 06:40:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrtur

Hi,

I'm new to NetXMS and I'm try to monitor ~20-30 remote sites with network devices (router, switches, access points) mainly from Mikrotik and Unifi (with SNMP enabled).

Each site is connected to Internet and linked to an OpenVPN server for monitoring and remote config. On each site there's a management network with a unique 10.1.X.0/24 subnet, containing networking devices. Users (wired or wireless) are placed in a VLAN using the same private subnet (172.16.0.0/22) on each site. I've attached a schema. 

In NetXMS I've created a container (in infrastructure tab) and a zone for each remote site. Then I add each 10.1.X.0/24 subnet in the network discovery settings (passive + active). Discovery works only if I don't specify a zone for the subnet, but doing so all the devices show up in the same Default zone. So I wrote a nxshell script to move all my device in the right zone after discovery ended.

It works, but I see lots of duplicates devices showing up constantly in netxms (I've already setup the server parameter to merge duplicates and restarted netxms), and I can't do some polls like full configuration polls after a device have been placed in a zone.

In the documentation, it seems like the right way to use zoning is by defining a proxy node in each zone, but in my case I cannot use the mikrotik routers as proxy nodes, because I cannot install the netxms agent on it. I've tried using containers, but it requires a physical opertion on each site, so its not an option right now.

What is the correct configuration to have all of my remote sites in netxms with zoning (or other solution)?

Thanks

Alex Kirhenshtein

With this setup you can monitor routers (via management IP), but not the customers, you'll need zones for that.

I see only two options: