Author Topic: New table...  (Read 4807 times)

Anders

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
New table...
« on: May 03, 2012, 09:13:11 am »
Hi,

I've just recently setup a lab environment to test the new NetXMS 1.2.0 and while playing around with the management console, in the DCI Configurator, I've noticed that besides creating a "New parameter..." (which seems to be the same thing as the old "New..." in version 1.0.12), there is also an option to create a "New table...".

But I can't figure out what the "New table..." alternative is and its purpose (I've tried searching the forums and the wiki for any information). While playing around with it, trying to add columns, I get a cryptic popup window with simply an "OK" and a "Cancel" button, without any other information...

Could anyone elaborate around what this is and how it works?

Thanks

Anders

Victor Kirhenshtein

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7200
    • View Profile
Re: New table...
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 01:27:27 pm »
Hi!

It's a new feature in development, which is not ready yet. Main idea is to add support for tabular data processing. It can be any data where instances are not known initially or can vary during time, and each instance has one or more attributes. Examples of such data could be process list or file systems list.

Currently Windows agent supports table FileSystem.Volumes. If you wish to take a look at it, you can create new table and enter FileSystem.Volumes as parameter name. You don't need to define columns manually. In last values, you will see new table DCI, and will be able to see it's last values. It is also possible to create charts based on table DCIs in dashboards.

Best regards,
Victor

Anders

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: New table...
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2012, 10:15:12 am »
Thanks for the explanation Victor.

One other question, is there any way to combine 2 or more values (lines) in one graph on the performance tab? (like the old automated "Physical memory" graph in 1.0.12).

For example, in the same graph, I'd like to show the amount of used, cached and free memory, is that possible?

Thanks again.

Victor Kirhenshtein

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7200
    • View Profile
Re: New table...
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2012, 09:11:22 am »
Hi!

Currently it's not possible. I have it in my to-do list. Depending on time, this feature will be in 1.2.1 or 1.2.2 release.

Best regards,
Victor

Anders

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: New table...
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2012, 05:22:07 pm »
Ok, thanks for your reply Victor. I hope it will make it into 1.2.1 :)

Sumit Pandya

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: New table...
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2012, 02:11:25 pm »
Hi Developers,
    Any foresight for using "tabular DCI" for multiple SNMP OID request into one Query? This will have 2 advantages
    1. Less network traffic on network.
    2. Atomicity and Integrity of the related OID; example request and response for a server.
    It can also be used for SNMPWalk concept.

Victor Kirhenshtein

  • Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7200
    • View Profile
Re: New table...
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2012, 10:55:53 pm »
Hi!

Currently I hope to add this functionality during the summer.

Best regards,
Victor