Stuck file Agent

Started by redro, July 14, 2010, 06:22:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

redro

Hi All,

I am very new to NetXMS. Here is my requirement : I want to monitor for a .txt file should not stuck more than 15 min in c:/tmp folder.
For that which Agent Parameter i have to choose
Please suggest me.
Thanks.
JP

Victor Kirhenshtein

Hi!

Yo can use File.Count parameter. Full syntax is following:

File.Count(path, pattern, recursive, size, age)

where

pathpath to directory or file to check
patternpattern for file name matching
recursiverecursion flag; if set to 1 or true, agent will scan subdirectories
sizesize filter (bytes); if < 0, only files with size less than abs(value) will match; if > 0, only files with size greater than value will match; if 0, all files will match
ageage filter (seconds); if < 0, only files created after now - abs(value) will match; if > 0, only files created before now - value will match; if 0, all files will match

path argument is mandatory, all other are optional.

So, to count number of .txt files older than 15 minutes in c:\tmp, you can use

File.Count('C:\tmp', '*.txt', 0, 0, 900)

And after that you just need to set threshold for this parameter to >0, generate appropriate event, and process it as usual.

Best regards,
Victor

redro

Victor,

Great help, how ever i am looking for Error in Tomcat log file. basically tomcat will write the log on console. I have tried with several agents but no luck. Could you please don't hesitate to assist me.

And i am not able to understand threshold theory, i have gone through the user manual and google search too. If you have any information on the same please help me.

Thanks,
JP.

redro

Hi Victor,