New Docker Files Available! Asking for help with releases

Started by Matthew-Beckett, May 11, 2021, 01:49:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matthew-Beckett

Hi All!

I am new to the project and have forked the Docker images left unmaintained at juliusloman/netxms-dockerfiles on GitHub

I have been manually handling the publishing of the most recent build 3.8.314, these are published and available in GitLab. However as mentioned, right now this is manual. Ideally I foresee a process in which I can run a GitHub Action to check for NetXMS releases and create a pull request with the relevant changes in the Dockerfiles ready for me to merge and release as a new version.

The issue I face is that I am unable to determine a reliable (and simple) mechanism for determining when new releases are made available. My initial plan was to use GitHub however, the repository is only tagged to the major version and I plan to release all revisions that are made available in apt, these can be as specific as X.X.XXX, furthermore, I do not wish to re-compile within the container and instead will pull from the aptitude repository for simplicity and dependability.

I did also attempt RSS via the forum, however the releases are cluttered with posts other than just new releases making parsing a potential failure point in the event of a feed/post layout/content change.

Is there potential within the project to discuss using the GitHub Releases functionality in order to provide me with a feed with which to receive all updates including minor updates in a feed with which I can parse programmatically and begin automating the creation and publishing of Docker Images for NetXMS.

One final note, I have not updates the management console Docker image as it seemed a bit unnecessary, but I am open to supporting this again in future should people have a requirement for it.

Thanks!
Matt   

Alex Kirhenshtein

Hello.